Handle with new WD drives in cloning with DE

Moderator: Maxim_TS


pauloanbraga
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: 15.06.13
Reputation: 0 / (1)

Handle with new WD drives in cloning with DE

Postby pauloanbraga » 09.02.21, 10:29

Today I would like to ask for a tip:
I have received many WD palmer and charger Hds in many cases the cloning is extremely slow. It is not due to failure in the heads because I have already changed the heads and the same happens. They read some sectors and enter a strange state in which the DRD DWF DRQ lights come on and the disc does not read any more sectors. The only way I've found to continue cloning is to turn the disk off and on. This means that the disk keeps turning on and off THOUSANDS of times a day.

I would like to ask for a tip on the best configuration of the data extractor for these situations with these new WD. Can anyone help me?


Maxim_TS
Site Admin
Posts: 349
Joined: 27.03.13
Reputation: 17 / (169)

Re: Handle with new WD drives in cloning with DE

Postby Maxim_TS » 17.02.21, 16:06

First it's necessary to make a full ROM and SA modules backup. Then check if heads can write good in Service Area, do it on some not important modules for both system heads. Then, if heads can write, need to go to Work with Service Area->Lock UA writing, and restart the drive. This will prevent any further writing in User Area and as a result, the SMR translator stays unchanged, and the drive will work faster.
With best regards
ACELab technical support
ts.acelaboratory.com
blog.acelab.eu.com


osity
User
Posts: 463
Joined: 05.12.15
Reputation: 4 / (40)

Re: Handle with new WD drives in cloning with DE

Postby osity » 07.11.23, 19:54

Is there a way to lock UA writing over USB?

User avatar
digitalsupport
User
Posts: 224
Joined: 30.12.11
Reputation: 6 / (62)

Re: Handle with new WD drives in cloning with DE

Postby digitalsupport » 10.11.23, 09:16

osity wrote:Source of the post Is there a way to lock UA writing over USB?

Have not tried to lock UA write over USB. Why you would like to do that?


osity
User
Posts: 463
Joined: 05.12.15
Reputation: 4 / (40)

Re: Handle with new WD drives in cloning with DE

Postby osity » 17.11.23, 13:56

To not corrupt 190, ….or perhaps I should be asking about TLER over USB.

User avatar
digitalsupport
User
Posts: 224
Joined: 30.12.11
Reputation: 6 / (62)

Re: Handle with new WD drives in cloning with DE

Postby digitalsupport » 20.11.23, 14:07

osity wrote:Source of the post To not corrupt 190, ….or perhaps I should be asking about TLER over USB.


Should have asked another question. Why do you want to read over USB?
USB is fine for a fully functional drive, but i would never recommend USB for data recovery. It takes like 5 minutes to solder a stable SATA connection.


Return to “WD Marvell”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests