How To Re-Read Timeout Sectors

Data recovery from Hard Disk Drives with logical problems

Moderator: Alex_TS

User avatar
DataMedics
Advanced user
Posts: 618
Joined: 14.12.15
Reputation: 18 / (175)

How To Re-Read Timeout Sectors

Postby DataMedics » 09.04.20, 16:03

In the latest version of DE there doesn't seem to be any way to make it re-read sectors that timeout (not error out, but timeout). I seem to recall being able to do it in previous versions of DE though.

Anyone know a method to force it to re-read sectors that timeout?

I've got an odd case here of a drive with firmware corruption (which can't be fixed) but that can read a few hundred sectors before getting stuck busy after each soft reset. The problem is, the first sector it tries to read each time stays red and isn't automatically re-read after the soft reset.

User avatar
d_d_recovery
New user
Posts: 142
Joined: 20.03.19
Reputation: 2 / (22)

Re: How To Re-Read Timeout Sectors

Postby d_d_recovery » 09.04.20, 16:20

Doesn't the 'attempt' box to the right of the software reset do that?

User avatar
DataMedics
Advanced user
Posts: 618
Joined: 14.12.15
Reputation: 18 / (175)

Re: How To Re-Read Timeout Sectors

Postby DataMedics » 09.04.20, 16:29

You'd think, but it never seems to. I know the sectors aren't bad because on subsequent passes they do clear. It's just annoying that I can't get it to re-read that first sector on the initial pass. So I keep getting about 1000 green, 1 red, 1000 green, 1 red. Then on follow up passes, it get's one red then clears the next two. I'm just trying to avoid having to run 100 passes to clear all these reds.

User avatar
d_d_recovery
New user
Posts: 142
Joined: 20.03.19
Reputation: 2 / (22)

Re: How To Re-Read Timeout Sectors

Postby d_d_recovery » 09.04.20, 16:35

Does 'reading with hardware reties' in 'command to read' help?


northwind
New user
Posts: 121
Joined: 14.06.11
Reputation: 4 / (40)

Re: How To Re-Read Timeout Sectors

Postby northwind » 10.04.20, 08:52

You need to uncheck 'single sector read' and 'skip sectors on read error' (or similar) I think

User avatar
DataMedics
Advanced user
Posts: 618
Joined: 14.12.15
Reputation: 18 / (175)

Re: How To Re-Read Timeout Sectors

Postby DataMedics » 11.04.20, 21:45

northwind wrote:Source of the post You need to uncheck 'single sector read' and 'skip sectors on read error' (or similar) I think

Yes, I know that and have had those off from the start.

d_d_recovery wrote:Source of the post Does 'reading with hardware reties' in 'command to read' help?

Unfortunately no, it's the same.

For now, I've just queued up a ton of re-read passes to deal with it. But it's just annoying.


Return to “Data Extractor”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest